Days five and six PV to Huatulco


This was my fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta, so I know my way around (at least the tourist areas) pretty well.  We caught a bus to the malecon and walked the full length of the stone boardwalk, looking at all of the people and the wonderful views of the ocean.  At 10:00 the shops started opening so I got busy shopping for a few things.  I needed a new belt and a tie.  There are plenty of street vendors in PV ready to help separate you from your money.  We didn’t buy much, but had an excellent lunch before heading back to the cruise dock area.  We made a quick trip to Walmart and then got back aboard for the trip to Huatulco.
The harbor into Huatulco is very narrow, almost like a fjord.  It takes careful maneuvering by the pilot to shoehorn a cruise ship in.  Or perhaps two cruise ships?
Yep, two of them.  Both the Statendam and the Coral Princess were late into Huatulco.  We had to drop off a heart attack victim in Acapulco the night before.  The Coral Princess had to stop and search for an employee that committed suicide by jumping off the back of their boat somewhere south of Huatulco.  The second item made the news in the states.  The little towns near the dock were absolutely loaded with tourists and it was hard to even get inside some of the shops if they had air conditioning.  This port is purely for cruise ships, no commercial ships allowed in this harbor.  The cove and accompanying harbor were in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen.  This is going to become a very popular resort in the next 10 years.  At least we got to see it before it got developed.  We missed out on a snorkeling trip here as a Portuguese Man-of-War was spotted early in the morning the day we arrived.

This guy was charging five dollars for a picture of you, the tourist with the fattest iguana I’ve ever seen in my life.  I snuck this shot with my camera at my waist as I walked by.
Every town of any size has a central plaza with a gazebo in the center.  La Crucecita near Hualtuco is no exception.  It’s a five minute taxi ride from the dock to this small city.  Note I’m shooting this picture from the shady side of the walk.  The weather is hot and humid from Puerto Vallarta south (or southeast is more accurate).  Farther down the coast equals more discomfort, until you get used to it.
Typical market stalls in Mexico.  Colorful and just chock full of things a person really doesn’t need.  These were a five minute walk from the dock.

On to Puerto Chiapas!

About Ken

I am a federal employee that loves to travel. I don't get any time off during the busy salmon tagging season, March through November. So, I save my leave and explore the warmer parts of the world during the winter.
This entry was posted in Honeymoon cruise to Panama. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

