Heading for the coast!


Sorry it has been so long since I’ve written.  This spring was extremely busy with work, moving, and stress, so I developed some health problems.  Writing was impossible in the tagging trailer and I didn’t have energy or time while off work.  I was dealing with both exhaustion and being unable to sleep at night.  This problem compounded to the point I was having difficulty functioning.  I had to simplify my life and blogging was one of the things that had to go.

Fortunately I’ve figured out some of my problem.  A medication was disagreeing with me.  I cut back and have been able to recover.  My doctor was unable to help me, he assumed it was sleep apnea.  I may have sleep apnea, but I’ve decided not to worry about it for the time being.  I have a 7 week work/camping trip coming up in July-August and I won’t have electricity to operate the funky little sleep machine.  I guess I’ve gotta die of something!   Praxy is watching me at night for signs of sleep apnea.  So far she says I’ve been sleeping soundly.

Praxy and I have decided to visit the Oregon coast for a week this spring.  Neither of us have been on Highway 101 and this is a perfect time for a break after a long a tedious spring tagging season.  Our route will go from Pomeroy to Astoria, Oregon, then down 101 to the Sequoia National Park.  We are planning to return via Crater Lake and across Oregon.  8 nights should cover it.  We’ll take it slow and easy, we don’t want to miss anything.

I am still dealing with another health issue.  It seems that I’ve picked up an infection while moving.  It has lasted for 6 weeks, and I’m beginning to suspect I might have picked up something from cleaning my sheds, which had a lot of mouse turds.  I don’t think it is Hanta virus, as I don’t feel extremely sick.  It is in my lungs with some sinus congestion.  I can tell when an episode is coming on, my left arm starts aching and my whole body gets weak.  I’m going to get some antibiotics today and hope that knocks it down,  If not, then I’ve probably contracted a virus.  I get tired easily, but otherwise I’m getting along OK.  Not too bad to take any time off of work or skip my vacation.  For a while this week I was better, then all of a sudden it was back yesterday afternoon.  Other possibilities are; walking pneumonia, mono.  Feels like a mild cold with mild exhaustion issues associated with the flu.

Sigh…

Hope you all enjoy this little side trip.  Perhaps I’ll get back to my Mexican tidbit series during the vacation.  I still have at least two good stories.

About Ken

I am a federal employee that loves to travel. I don't get any time off during the busy salmon tagging season, March through November. So, I save my leave and explore the warmer parts of the world during the winter.
This entry was posted in Oregon coast 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

