3rd post, a lot of little adventures


It’s hard to think of where to start, we have been covering a lot of ground.  As I write this, there is a post going to Facebook with a gigantic firecracker that I just HAD to buy and light.  “Coils” are medium large, somewhat stronger than the “m80’s” we have in the US.  No one wants to get close.  I was going to light it, but Lyndon would have no part of that.  He asked someone else to do the honors

and the result is posted to Facebook.  Which leads to…
Yesterday morning we went for a walk to get Praxy’s favoritte breakfast food, pan de sal.  Pan de sal is a white dinner roll looking breakfast treat that is quite tasty.  Not sugary at all.  But near the bakery is the propane/natural gas distribution system for the area.  These are common, and they sure look like a “coil”, just waiting to explode.  I would not want to live or work anywhere near this.

They run around the corner and disapear under ground.  Wow.  A ticking time bomb at everyone’s feet.
Also on the walk were these fancy little fighting chicken shelters made of worn out truck tires.  They almost qualify as art.
And more, and this is all a short walk from our house.  Today I spotted some odd looking leaves being dried on the ground while returning from the explosive show.
After many questions and patient persistance (the locals kind of think my curiosity is over the top) I was able to get to the bottom of it.  They were being dried for jewelry.  My first response was “How do you dangle a huge dried leaf around your neck or hang it on your ear and make it look good?” (A fig leaf?) More explanations and stalling; finally, to shut me up, I was invited through the gate next door, I mean right next door.   The answer, they are laminated into beautiful wooden bracelets.  And here are the pictures…There are leaves, snake skin, designs, whatever to make a pretty decoration.  The snake skins are from a common local water snake, or so I was told.  They’d better be common, there were hundreds of dried snake skins ready to be put to use.  These are exported mainly to Europe.  I looked at the prices, 50php each or about $1.15 usd.
My persistance had paid off and we have some new friends.  Praxy talked to them quite a bit about  possible sale in the US.
Yesterday I got a wild hair about visiting the local zoo.  I invited everyone, and after some hesitation we had Lyndon, Jean, Wesley, Vavan, Praxy, and myself on the way to the “Crocodile farm”.  On the way, we stopped and visited Martin and Dione and enjoyed some wonderful casava rolls.  I gave them each a “gold” US dollar as a token of friendship and respect.  Martin returned in kind with a shocking surprise, Mickey Mouse Money.
(The bill)This is a 10 peso Japanese Occupation note printed during World War II, circa 1943-1944.  Martin has quite a collection.  Although not valuable, maybe about 10 bucks, it is a souvenir that I will treasure for the rest of my life.  I was touched.  He and Dione are wonderful people.
Then over to reacquaint myself with Vavan’s mother Desire. 

I had to think for a while before I remembered her.  Last trip I met so many people that there is no way I can keep track of them all.  But they remember me and we had a nice chat.  We then collected Vavan’s daughter Julia and off we went to the zoo.
The zoo mainly runs to reptiles, but there are a few birds and mammals.  There is but simple chain link fence between us and the critters, not at all like the US.  The family loved it, none of them had ever been there before.  I was glad to give them the chance.  Jean, Andrew, and Wesley also made the tour of Bohol in 2005.  Lyndon missed that, he was working on the house here in Mactan.

And finally, through the traffic and returning to Mactan.  The traffic is horrible, but fortunately carpooling is popular. I’m glad the boy can drive his father around town.

That doesn’t cover everything, but I’m going to call this entry a wrap.  We are off to Dumaguete tomorrow morning leaving the house and 4:30am and leaving Cebu at 6:00am.  A new experience for me, riding on the Philippine Fastcraft ferry.  The next blog could be delayed, we’ll see what the internet situation is.  Take care, readers!

About Ken

I am a federal employee that loves to travel. I don't get any time off during the busy salmon tagging season, March through November. So, I save my leave and explore the warmer parts of the world during the winter.
This entry was posted in 2011-2012 Philippine trip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

