In Seattle, trying to write


Very very hard to do.  Not only am I filled with concern, I can’t sleep at night.  With copious amounts of alcohol, I get about 3-4 hours.  As soon as I wake up in the night, the three ring circus starts cycling in my head.  I can’t get rid of it.  Every get a song stuck in your head?  Annoying, isn’t it?  This is currently my night life,  endless cycling.  And now a 12 hour flight across the Pacific.  I have a lot of trouble sleeping on aircraft.

I have never been attached to a person like I’m attached to Praxy.  Normally my self control is pretty good, but I’m failing miserably.  This is the first time in my life I’ve gone through this.  I was too young when dad died and I expected mom’s demise.

Ok, OK!  Done with wallowing in self pity.  It always helps me to talk about it to someone close.  I’m by myself here in Seattle, so I’ve dumped here on the written page.

Everything is going great so far.  The drive to the Lewiston airport was a little scary this morning.  Deer.  Lots of them.  Fortunately none found their way in front of us, Scott and Rochelle were watching close.  A friend of mine, Jay, checked me in and we chatted a bit.  I met him in 1980 when I started with Cascade Airways.  A fun and down-to-earth type of guy.  Also, two close friends got up at 4:30am to see me off, Louisa and Ron.  Loves to both of you.  Thanks for caring.  Louisa has been a close friend of Praxy’s since college days.  They are close.

The flight over was beautiful.  Fresh snow on the mountain tops and haze from approaching weather in the background.  Mount Baker was gorgeous.  High mountain lakes are frozen over.  I stared and stared.  The Boeing plant in Everett is now huge.  You could see it from 20 miles away.

2 more hours of “terminal boredom”.  Seatac is a very nice airport, but you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all.   I had an Japanese lady come over and ask me for help with her computer while I was typing away.  It was a simple problem, but she was missing the key step to get out of that problem.  The “esc” key.  She wanted to shut it off, but couldn’t find the off switch.  I stopped her and got is straitened out in 5 seconds.  To her credit, it’s her husband’s computer, not hers.

Glancing behind me, I realized there was an All Nippon Airline aircraft sitting behind me.  I’d never seen one like it, so…off to Flight Aware.  ANA 1077.  Typed it in and PRESTO, a new Boeing 787.   I’m gonna make sure I watch that rascal take off.

Checked in for my flight and asked out of curiosity, “How much money to upgrade to business class?”  $2300, and they take credit cards.  LOL!  The old saying “Curiosity killed the cat” just about got me.  If I’d had taken my credit card out of my pocket, I would have probably dropped dead.  The flight is not full.  Maybe I’ll get two seats to myself.  Two years ago, all you had to do was commandeer the middle four seats.  Instant bed.  Going to do that as soon as we are up in the air if the flight is not crowded.

If I’m not too exhausted, I’ll send an update from Seoul.  Wishing everyone well.

PS…I’m leaving to “Visit a Place I Never Wanted to See”.

About Ken

I am a federal employee that loves to travel. I don't get any time off during the busy salmon tagging season, March through November. So, I save my leave and explore the warmer parts of the world during the winter.
This entry was posted in 2013, back to the Philppines. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Seattle, trying to write

  1. Lillian Heytvelt says:

    Hi Ken … Please know that we are praying for Praxy’s well being, peace for the family as they wait, and strength and courage for you as you prepare to search for her. I hope you are able to sleep on the flight over. Praxy is so precious. May a deep calm and focus be yours. Take care, we are thinking of you. Lillian (from the library)

  2. Mary says:

    If courage, will, and prayers can raise an army, you are well championed. May faith buoy your spirits and sustain you in the days to come, and God hold both you and Praxy safely in His hands and guide you swiftly into each other’s arms again. Prayers for you, Mary

Leave a Reply

