Can-Avid to Asgad, the journey continues


We were getting bored in Can-Avid.  Everyone in the house works except for brother Amado, so there isn’t anyone around to interact with.  Praxy wanted to leave on Tuesday afternoon, but I convinced her to wait another day.  Sheila had the truck in Borongan and we had no idea when she would return.  We would need a full day to make the move.  So, go visit the nearby barrio of Delores.

A forty peso tricycle ride to the market area for some exploration.  I was a dab hungry, so I tried something I’d never, ever heard of or thought of.  A deep fried hard boiled egg.

IMG_2484

This young man was running one of the many little street stands.  The eggs are boiled, battered, and fried.  Sitting on the left behind the condiment bottles.  Served with banana ketchup for a whopping ten pesos, maybe 23 cents.  Very tasty.  I went back and added two pieces of chicken at 10 pesos each.  That and a large bottle of drinking water made my lunch.  Praxy had a halo halo, but I declined.  The ice was made from city water.

NO THANKS!!

We wandered around and found the park area near the bay.  A nice breeze off the ocean made for a pleasant hour or so just hanging out.

IMG_2488IMG_2490IMG_2491

Lots of nice little restaurants here.  Relaxing.  I wanted to try a “hamburger”, but the two places that served that treat were closed until 5pm or so.  My luck.

We bought some  mangos, one for everyone in the house.

IMG_2493

And took off for Can-Avid.   We traveled with another person to save some money.  But if you REALLY want to save money, tricycle pool!

IMG_2503

These students are heading home from school.  Our driver got a kick out of this as well.  Doesn’t look very safe.  Nothing to hang on to if the driver has to make a sudden move.   This isn’t a full tricycle, note the place to stand on the back.  How many people fit on a tricycle?  One more.

A few odds and ends.

IMG_2430

The Can-Avid fire department

IMG_2431

A favorite of mine, the local bakery.

IMG_2432

This place is SUPER busy early in the morning.

Tasty ice cream

Ice cream freezer in the bakery

IMG_2434

Stinky dried fish.  I just don’t understand why anyone eats these.

IMG_2435

The bananaque stand being rebuilt.  They had to move across the street.   I missed getting my daily fix.

IMG_2437

A typical afternoon rain storm on our last afternoon.

Next morning, we were off to Asgad.  I was determined to shoot a few pictures out the windshield as I was riding up front.

IMG_2505

Nope, never shot a one.  Both Praxy and I were carsick as Peter drives, in my opinion, too fast.  Oh well, you can see me unloading stuff at the Asgad house.  We needed a bunch of supplies, so off to Guiuan to shop shop shop!

IMG_2506

Parked in front of the hypermart.  Across the street, the main form of local transportation.

IMG_2507

Tricycles.  Hoards of them.  Looks like few of the local people own cars.  Still probably recovering from Yolanda/Haiyan.

Some of the purchases; clothing gift for Peter’s 1 year old daughter, bed, groceries, ice, fly cover, electric fan (I’d be dead without it), mosquito netting (heluva good move), and drinking water.  Things that we found out later that we needed; furniture with shelves, sheets, scrub brush, tools, flip flops (I left mine in Can-Avid), paper plates, bathroom chair (for bathing), dustpan, and broom.

One other thing before I close for this writing session.  Walking into Viejo Asgad, I met a Facebook friend from there.  Adam Ranit.

IMG_2515

With AJ, Adam Junior.   You can see he is pretty perplexed by the sweating balding foreigner with the camera, the likes of which he has never seen in his life.  We ran into the whole family at the church the next day.  AJ smiled at me.  Made my morning.

Adam and I teamed up with Catharine, to help a US college professor from Notre Dame get to/from Asgad.   I got the impression that the measurements of the storm surge that the professor made were inadequate and he needed to do it again.  He contacted me via my blog, looking for Adam.  But he had forgotten Adam’s name.  And it is very difficult to get information to and from Asgad.   So Praxy and I worked with Catharine to figure out who the man had contacted, then set up a meeting and transportation.  So I made a new friend and finally got to meet him.

I’m wore out from 4 hours of writing, so I will continue tomorrow.

3:42pm  12/10/2015  Asgad, Eastern Samar, Philippine

Day two in Asgad.  Hoping it will rain.  10:00 am and I’m looking skyward.  Wistfully.  Praxy is working around the house, I’m too hot to do anything but sit in front of the fan.  Yesterday the rain started around noon.  10:10 now, still looking skyward through the window.  Hasn’t brought any clouds, I’m not getting anywhere on that.  Yet, it has been a productive morning.

While we were doing morning chores, one of Praxy’s cousins, Miguel from across the street, showed up looking for work.  OK, I could handle that.  Hired!, to clean out the rain gutter on the front of the house .  It was annoying, leaking on to the fascia board on the front of our house.  He grabbed out ladder, cleaned it and the others out, but noticed that the one in front was sloped away from the downspout and collecting trash.  Grrrr!  But, now we know what the problem is.   Tomorrow, him and a companion will put it right and slope it towards the downspout.  Also found out the inside is rusting as it was never painted.  Grrrr again!  Soooo, we will have to replace all the gutters, probably in a few years.  I notice some around here have been taken down already.

We want to do a little landscaping around the house.  I was thinking gravel, so we started walking over to the now razed church.  On the way, we met the barrio captain as he was inspecting the work on the multipurpose building.  He was more than glad to give us a room for the library.  In a nutshell, YAY!   Then onward to the church and we…

 

looked at the rubble to see how fine it was.  A hodge podge of Haiyan blasted cement and tiles.  No good for gravel.  At all.  But my mind, ever busy, saw the possibilities immediately.   Paver stones!  Lots of them!   Enough to pave our whole property.  We asked Adam’s permission, he was setting up the PA system in the temporary church nearby.  He gladly granted it.  The rubble is being pushed towards the ocean to make way for the new church.  We hired some kids to load 200 on a truck, it should be here shortly.

 

We will put people (it ended up being the two kids, 16 years old each) to work for a day or so, digging, leveling, and putting in pavers to both doors and perhaps to the back yard.  We’ll use the dirt to fill in around the stones.  There is also some leftover grouting sand from leveling the floor under the tiles.  (The neighbors look longingly at our beautiful, smooth floor.  It set us back $300, way beyond affordability for most locals.)   That might work in between.  If it washes out, no problem.  Nothing ventured, nothing gained and the sacks would be out of the back yard.  It wouldn’t surprise me one teeny bit to see others follow our lead.

Off on a tangent, here.  A couple of children across the street have large lumps, one child on the eye, the other child in the armpit.  Boils?   Benign tumors?   Cysts?  Both of them?  What the heck?  I’m very curious.  I’ve asked to look at them.  We walked over, no one home.  Got back, and before I could type further, we were invited over…

Just got back.  (I’m not a doctor, this is all conjecture)   I’m relieved for the girl, who looks about 12.  I was told “on the eye” (egad!), but it isn’t “on the eye”.  Whew! (ken wipes brow)  Translation problems.  Looks like a stye, a big one on her eyelid.  I think those can be lanced.   We never hear about them much in the states as people get styes treated early and we normally have better hygiene.  Never seen one that big, hers is huge.  About the size of a dry pinto bean.  Poor girl, she’s pretty otherwise.  The boy?  A lump in the armpit alright.  Fairly large and painful, a little smaller than a flattened golfball.  Looks attached to his pectoral muscle area just under the skin.  Big for him as he is 9 years old.  His grandmother had a benign tumor or cyst on her head for many years.  It came and went, moving about her head.   Therefore, it makes me lean towards thinking it’s a cyst on the boy (inherited tendency), the pain coming from irritation as he moves his arm.   Those things can be very painful, even on body parts that don’t move, like ovaries. 

Hope that is all.  Some other possibilities are not pleasant.

We’ve got a jeepney lined out at 4am tomorrow.  That sucks, but we go to bed very early anyway.   We’ll do our shopping and perhaps hire someone to bring us back. 

One last thing for today.   In my never-ending quest for that perfect halo halo, I proudly present for your scrutiny.  (Cue the drum roll!)

 

 

 

 

rat-a-tat-a-rat-a-tat-a-rat-a-tat, CLANG!

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2508IMG_2509IMG_2510

another candidate.   This little work of art.  From Kusina ni Paring

IMG_2511

attached to the Hypermart in Guiuan.   One each for Peter, Praxy, and myself.  The owner is the lady sitting far right. 

This halo halo was a little different.  No sweet beans in the bottom, no palm jellies.  Came with chocolate cereal, canned fruit, Oreo cookie thing, bubble gum flavored straw, and crisped rice on top.   Not as good as Mama’s in Gihulngan, but…

Second best.  Only 50 pesos.  Generous serving, tasty and colorful.  Considering the large sample size now under my (now bulging) belt that’s high praise.

Having fun in the heat.

12:10pm  12/11/2015  Asgad, Eastern Samar, Philippines.

About Ken

I am a federal employee that loves to travel. I don't get any time off during the busy salmon tagging season, March through November. So, I save my leave and explore the warmer parts of the world during the winter.
This entry was posted in 2011 Idaho chinook tagging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

